Skip to content

Inspiration: Tree Patterns

June 12, 2009

TreeBranch1TreeBranch2

While jogging a couple of days ago, I learned that the New York Botanical Garden is within walking distance from my apartment. Surprised, and with the day off from work, I went in. While I was expecting an enclosed greenhouse like the Botanical Garden in Washington, D.C., the New York version is actually a 55-acre expanse of land. The scenery was breathtaking and I literally felt I entered another world, away from the New York concrete jungle.

What immediately caught my eye in the park were the diverse trees. The patterns on their branches were so complex and varied, like river streams or veins on a leaf.

I began to think of how cool it would to imitate this on my work, perhaps using embroidery thread on a simple crocheted bracelet or necklace. I played around with this idea on my newest bracelet, which I will post next.

There is so much inspiration in nature! I’m glad I found this wonderful place, as I’m sure I’ll discover more fodder for creativity.
TreeBranch3TreeBranch4

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2009 3:56 pm

    This is cool,
    I would love to do a shoot there, I think it would be cool!

Leave a Reply

