Skip to content

Purple Cabbage

July 16, 2009

RedCabbage

I’m always trying to expand my food palette. At the corner market the other day, I decided to pick up a purple cabbage, as I had never attempted to cook one before. I was a little nervous because I wasn’t sure of the proper way to cook it. Always up for a challenge, I decided to try it anyway.

I cut it in half and was surprised at how beautiful it looked! The color was so rich and vibrant, and the pattern so organic and inspiring.

I tore it into pieces and placed it in a water and olive oil mixture, along with some broccoli. I wish I had an onion though, as I’m sure the flavor would have really been enhanced. When I was younger, my mother would often fix green cabbage with potatoes, ham and onions. It was so delicious!

Lacking the energy to boil potatoes, or go back to fetch an onion and ham, I decided to make due with what I had. I steamed the cabbage and broccoli until tender, mixed in onion powder, pepper, basil leaves and parsley flakes then poured it over rice. It was really good, and even better the day after! The purple broth from the cabbage and spices was really delicious too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

