Skip to content

Chinese Cuisine on Grand Street

July 21, 2009

ChineseFood

Delwin and I stopped off at Grand Street on the D Train on our way to the Brooklyn Flea Market. We found this fantastic Chinese Restaurant there a few weeks ago, a cheap spot with large helpings and fresh food, which is somewhat of a rarity in my neighborhood.

Grand Street, right near Canal Street, part of New York City’s Chinatown, a large neighborhood filled with the sights and sounds of Chinese culture. It is fascinating feeling like you are in another country altogether, as many people there speak little English. Like my neighborhood, which is mostly Spanish and Indian, there are large outdoor/indoor fruit and vegetable markets. These markets, however, feature foods perhaps indigenous, or at least common, to Chinese cuisine.

I did pick up a few unfamiliar fruits, such as the saucer peach, which is exactly like a regular peach, only squashed. I wonder how it got like that?


SaucerPeach

I also picked up this conical shaped plum. I think it’s slightly tougher than a “normal” plum, but I like it. It is a little tart but still light and sweet. In other plum news, check out one my favorite poems by Helen Chasin called “The Word Plum


Plum


I also spotted a dragonfruit a, scary little thing with a vibrant color. It looks like it was cut from an Amazonian rainforest. I didn’t have the nerve to purchase one so am not able to tell how it tastes. Perhaps next time I will muster up the nerve!

Dragonfruit

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2009 5:56 am

    Love the pictures and oh my gosh, I wanna go back like right nowww lol! So delicious, so affordable!

Leave a Reply

