Skip to content

Fried Sweet Potato, Spinach and Rice

August 1, 2009

It was pretty gloomy outside today, so I decided to stay in and experiment with cooking! I try to cook on a regular basis, but it’s not my favorite thing in the world to do. I mainly do it out of necessity, since eating out everyday is both unhealthy and really expensive, especially in New York!


SweetPotatoe1


I had some unused sweet potatoes in the refrigerator and decided to whip something up. This was a quick and easy dish to make, and I even have leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch!

First, I cut the sweet potato in slices. Midway between cutting, I poured Canola oil in a pan and set it to medium heat.

DSC04263

I then decided to pour a little brown sugar in a bowl and dip the sweet potato slices in it to give them a little sweetness. They turned out really sweet, so I’d may hold off on this next time, or use honey instead.

DSC04267

Once the oil was hot, I put the slices in!

DSC04266

As they were cooking, I prepared my rice. Rice is really easy to make. Just remember that 1 part rice = 3 parts water.

DSC04264

The sweet potato slices were done really quick. It took maybe 5 – 10 minutes. You will know they are done when they turn brown. Put a few paper towels on a plate to absorb the excess oil.

I found this really quick, microwaveable bag of fresh spinach at my local grocery store the other day. All you do is poke a few holes in the bag and set the microwave to about 3 minutes (depending on microwave settings)!


DSC04270


Finally, I added a little margarine to the rice and salt to the spinach, put everything in a bowl and chowed down. It was really good, and filling too!

I wonder what else I can make? :)

DSC04279

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

