Skip to content

An Eggplant and Salty Lessons

August 9, 2009

Diving deeper into cooking yesterday,  I thought I would expand my culinary skills a bit with the intimidating eggplant. I’ve had mixed feelings about eggplant; if done right, it can be perfectly delicious. If done wrong (and there are many ways to do it wrong), it transforms into a slimy and bland meal-destroyer. Thus, I purchased my first eggplant with the determination to make it work.

Eggplant 1

I researched a bit online for the proper way to prepare it, as I hadn’t a clue how to even cut it, nor did I know what awaited me once I did. I discovered a Good Housekeeping article that mentioned how raw eggplant leaves a bad aftertaste, and that the best way to remedy this is by “deactivating” the bad-aftertaste enzyme with a bit of salt. With this morsel of information, I began cutting my eggplant into slices.

Eggplant 3
Surprisingly, it looked “normal,” and wasn’t scary at all. It’s kind of like a soft potato with seeds in the middle. Confidently, after cutting up all the eggplant and removing the skin (which took quite a long time), I proceeded with the deactivating process, which leads to a very important lesson:

Read instructions carefully.

The article says to “generously sprinkle each slice of eggplant with kosher salt.” For some strange reason still unknown to me, I replaced the word “sprinkle” with “dip” in my head, completely covering each side with non-kosher salt.

Eggplant 4

Then, following the instructions, I placed the eggplant slices on a paper towel and, in my case, a plate. I think all the salt I put on it caused the eggplant slices to lose its water, as I was soon left with a dark puddle of eggplant juice on my kitchen counter. Thinking this was part of the process, I moved on.

With my eggplant dish I made fried tofu, which was really delicious. I purchased extra firm tofu and prepared a flour mixture with curry powder, parsley flakes, season salt and pepper. I then fried it in olive oil. It turned out fantastic!

Eggplant 5Eggplant 6Eggplant 7

I then stir fried snap peas, a few mushrooms and, of course, the eggplant. Humming as I stirred, I was excited to try my new dish, confident that I had prepared meal Julia Child would be proud of.

Eggplant 9

In a sudden spurt of culinary “genius,” I poured soy sauce atop the already salty eggplant, which leads to my second lesson:

Watch your salt.

Yes, salt makes things taste good, but it can also ruin a dish if too much is added, not too mention give you some serious high blood pressure. If preparing a dish with a lot of flavors, taste your dish once it is cooked before adding salt.

So, the stir fry is cooked, the rice is cooked, and the tofu is fried and smelling great. Everything looked so good!

Eggplant 10

I hungrily poured everything into a bowl, grabbed a fork and sat down, only to taste what felt like an entire tablespoon of salt! I felt tears forming.

It did not take me too long to convict the eggplant as the salty culprit, and I quickly picked it all out in the hopes of salvaging the rest of this hour-in-the-making dish.

Eggplant 11

Fortunately, it worked! While it is still a little bit salty, it is edible and, best of all, important culinary lessons were learned.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 3:29 am

    Hi David!

    The dish looks great, it actually inspired me. Next time I see you let’s talk eggplant.

    Nora

    • August 9, 2009 3:57 am

      Hi Nora!

      Thanks for commenting. Yes, we definitely need to talk eggplant! Do you have better ways of preparing it? I’d love to know a good fried eggplant recipe too, or maybe eggplant parmesan. I’ve heard so many good things about the latter, but don’t think I’ve tasted it before.

      See you soon!

      – David

  2. Welton permalink
    August 15, 2009 3:53 pm

    LMaooooooooooooooo Loved this piece. The meal looked so good though! Had me drooling. lol

Leave a Reply

