Skip to content

Playing with Film Photography

August 19, 2009

SLRCamera1

The last time I went to Maryland, I found a 1980’s SLR KS Super camera, manufactured by Sears at my favorite thrift store. It was in perfect condition, complete with instruction manual, attachable flash and other miscellaneous items, like lens cleaning wipes. Best of all, it was only $25 for everything.

I knew I couldn’t pass it up, and I wanted to experiment with non-digital cameras, as I had never worked with film before. Finally mustering up the courage to start taking pictures with it, I purchased a cheap roll of CVS film and a new lithium battery. It took me a while to figure out how it operated and, once I realized I put the film in incorrectly, it began to work.

The process of taking the pictures, hearing the shutter go up and down, and cranking the Film Advance Lever, is fun by itself. There is also so many things to monitor, like the film and shutter speed, that makes it a much more patient task than digital film. Each picture must be carefully thought out, and I enjoyed not knowing what each shot looked like.

After using up all the film, I took it to my neighborhood photo store for processing. Most of the results were blurry (“watch your shutter speed,” said the owner of the photo shop), but I loved how soft everything look. I did manage to get some pretty good shots, like this one of my mother:

SLRCamera2

and this one of a subway docking center:

SLRCamera3

or this picture of two of the members in my church, Jorge and Nora:

SLRCamera4

I think I’ll purchase my next roll of film tomorrow and give it another go. The quality of the pictures are so different from digital that I can understand why many photographers opt for film as their preferred medium. I’m excited with the possibility of other pictures I’ll take, and hope to use this camera for my next Chauncey P. Graham photo shoot!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2009 4:20 pm

    Lovely picture of your beautiful mother.

    • August 21, 2009 7:05 pm

      Thank you so much Regina! I’ll be sure to pass along the compliment to her :)

  2. August 22, 2009 3:00 am

    I enjoy your blog David,
    I visit it at least twice a week!

    I love the picture quality from this camera and these photos are fantastic!

    Keep experimenting!

Leave a Reply

