Skip to content

Pasta with Baked Tomatoes and Feta

September 1, 2009

100_3260

Researching online for one of my jobs, I stumbled across a great blog called MakeGrowGather. It is a wonderful blog with scrumptious food ideas and I recommend checking it out! One post brought up the topic of roasted tomatoes, and I immediately became intrigued. According to the post, one can roast tomatoes overnight in low oven heat and the next day be greeted by delicious and crunchy tomatoes. It seems like a fantastic idea!

While I have yet to try it, I decided to make a dish that incorporated baked tomatoes. I also have been thinking of an old friend who showed me a wonderful way of creating a dressing using olive oil, honey dijon mustard and lemon juice. I decided to experiment with the two ideas in order to create one dish.

I try not to follow recipes while cooking. Instead, I like to mix and match ingredients and wish for the best. This has yielded interesting results, both good and bad.

To begin this latest culinary test, I bought the following items:

1 box of whole grain pasta
4 red tomatoes (the big, oval kind)
1 squash
1 garlic
1 tub of feta cheese
1 bottle of honey dijon mustard
1 bottle of olive oil
1 lemon

I began by preheating the oven to 275 degrees (Farhenheit) and boiling the whole grain pasta. While this cooked, I cut up the tomatoes in thick slices, then cut up about a quarter of the garlic.

100_3244100_3245

Leaving those to the side, I then cut up the squash.

100_3250

With all the vegetables done, I sprinkled a bit of olive oil in my baking pan.

100_3251

Then, I placed all of the vegetables in the pan, beginning with the squash first, the tomatoes layered on top and the garlic pieces in the crevices of the two. I then liberally sprinkled feta cheese on top.

Now it was time to create my dressing. I have never attempted to make dressing before so I was slightly nervous. I decided to play it by taste. I put about 3 tablespoons of the honey dijon in a bowl, then squeezed a bit of lemon and poured a bit of olive oil in the bowl. I added more lemon juice and olive oil until I reached a taste I liked.

100_3255100_3257

Mixing it all together thoroughly, I sprinkled it all on top of my vegetables and feta cheese. Doesn’t it look yummy?

100_3260

It was now ready to be placed in the oven! I left it in for about an hour. Slowly, the smell of garlic, mustard and tomatoes began to waft through the apartment.

When the time was up, I hungrily poured everything in a bowl and chowed down! It was really tasty, although next time I will use less mustard. I will most likely try the dish again, maybe adding baked chicken pieces in it.

100_3263

I declare this experiment a success!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

