Skip to content

Quick Fix: Fried Plantain, Sauteed Mushrooms and Red Beans

September 10, 2009

100_3287

This may not be the most visually appealing meal I’ve made, but it sure was one of the most delicious!

I’ve discovered that the hungrier I am, the faster I cook and the better my meals tend to be. Perhaps it’s because slow deliberation causes me to second-guess myself and the ingredients I choose to use, whereas quick thinking allows more culinary freedom. That certainly seemed true with this dish, which took about 30 minutes to make.

First I cut up and fried two whole plantain. I’m getting a lot better at frying them! (For instructions, check out this post. I was taught by my Sierra Leonian friend Delwin). The plantain was more yellow than I would have liked, so I lightly sprinkled a little brown sugar to enhance its sweetness.

Then, I sauteed the mushrooms. I used the entire container of mushrooms, with about a quarter of an onion and a healthy sprinkling of lemon pepper seasoning. I sauteed them in an olive oil and water mixture, in low heat. The pan was covered, and cooking time was about 10 minutes.

Once those were done, I opened a can of red beans (the kind with sauce included) and let it cook under medium heat for about 10 minutes.

Once everything was cooked, I poured it in a bowl and dug in. I should have cooked rice to go with it, but laziness got the best of me. Nevertheless, it was still a really great dish!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

