Skip to content

Needle Felting

October 3, 2009

100_3353

While at the American Sewing Expo a few weeks ago, among the state-of-the-art quiliting and embroidery machines, I discovered the wonderful world of needle felting.

Needle Felting is the process of taking wool and interlocking (or felting) its fibers together using a barbed needle in order to create a solid shape. It is incredibly easy and very therapeutic. I picked up a huge bag of wool in various colors for about $15. I probably can make thousands of beads with all of it! Here’s how I am creating beads with this process for my Etsy shop:

First, I tear off a small piece of wool.

100_3355

Then, I wrap it into a loose ball.

100_3356

Next, I begin piercing the wool with the felting needle. These needles are really sharp, and contain barbed hooks in order to catch and lock the wool fibers. I have to be really careful in order not to stick myself!

100_3357

The more I pierce the wool, the tighter it gets. It is important to move it around in various directions in order to “mold” it into the shape I want.

100_3360

Eventually, the fibers are locked enough to become a stiff ball. I made about twenty of them today. They are so much fun!
100_3362

Needle felting is such a versatile craft. I’ve seen examples of everything from needle felted dolls to felted fruit. While beads are all I am interested in making at the moment, there is a likely chance I will venture into other shapes in the future!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 11:20 am

    I am so glad i found your blog. I’ve been looking for a detailed way to make felt beads for a while now. And I share your artistic views =] Thanks David!

Trackbacks

  1. Swirled Beads « Yes, David Is Here

Leave a Reply

