Skip to content

Quick Fix: Tomatillo, Broccoli and Chickpea Dish

October 11, 2009

TomatilloandChickpea

Sometimes I really am not in the mood to cook. I would much rather order carry-out or have someone else cook for me all the time. Since I do not have the everyday luxury of either, I eventually have to cook at some point during the week.

Oftentimes I trudge into the kitchen grumpy, tired and hungry, and when there isn’t anything already prepared, I make super-quick dishes that look disheveled and thrown together.

The meal pictured above was one of those dishes. Vegetables are wonderful to cook because they are cheap, most can be eaten raw, and they are obviously great for your body. With this dish I did the following:

  • First, I boiled a pot of brown rice. I cook one cup of rice with three cups of water, and let it cook with the pot covered. When cooking it, make sure you add enough water and the flame is not too high, otherwise the starch in the rice may cause it to overflow.
  • Then I preheated an oiled pan in low heat, and cut up two broccoli heads, a green tomatillo and a red pepper. Tomatillos are often wrapped in green leaves in the grocery store. They are very sweet, and have small seeds inside them. I’m not sure if you’re supposed to eat the seeds, but I eat them anyway!
  • Once all the vegetables were cut, I dumped them in the pan with a little bit of water (maybe a 1/3 cup), then added lemon pepper seasoning, garlic powder and pepper. Season the vegetables sparingly. You can always add more when they are fully cooked, but too much salt can potentially run your meal.
  • I then added a can of chickpeas and stirred all the ingredients in the pan.
  • I let the vegetables simmer over low heat for about 10 minutes, and poured my now-cooked rice in a pan.
  • With everything cooked, a put my portion in a bowl, added a bit of soy sauce and plopped down to eat.

This was a quick meal that left me satisfied and ready for bed!

Do you have any other recipes for a super-fast meal? Post them in the “Comments” section of this post, or send me an e-mail at ChaunceyPGraham[at]gmail[dot]com. I’d love to try them out!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

