Skip to content

Halloween and The Reading Rainbow

October 31, 2009

When I was a child, I never celebrated Halloween.

My parents are devout Christians, and they simply never allowed even the idea of celebrating evil their home, even if it was dressed in a Spider-Man or Barbie costume. Halloween was the devil’s holiday, I was told; the day that ghosts and ghouls run rampant to snatch unsuspecting little children, or the day that witches and warlocks seduce children into their lairs with sugary sweets.

Ok…perhaps I am exaggerating (am I?), but the point is that I never could partake in Halloween festivities. I never owned a costume, never went trick-or-treating, never even cut out a paper skeleton. All of it was off limits and, over time, I determined that none of it was too important to care about. “It’s just a day,” I conceded to myself.

So, when that day came, I snuggled up on the couch and watched television, ignoring the knocks on my door from eager trick-or-treaters, and ignoring my friends’ excitement over their amazing Power Ranger or Princess costumes.

Now I’m 23, miles away from home, and voluntarily locked in The Haunted House of New York. If you venture out long enough, you can find Halloween everyday in this town, but the witches’ brew really boils on October 31st. Blood and guts spill happily on glitter-laden streets, and vampires gnawing on the flesh of their human prey walk peacefully among Fabio-esque stripper-cops each and every Halloween. It is really a sight.

While I couldn’t muster the courage to wear a really outlandish costume (a Beyonce-inspired get-up was an idea I was toying with), I decided to make something a little fun to wear on my first Halloween. Talking with a few co-workers, I finally decided that I was going to be The Reading Rainbow, in honor of the classic PBS children show hosted by Levar Burton (who has over a million Twitter followers!)

ReadingRainbow1

Sure, some may call it lame, but I think it is hilarious! I loved all the PBS Children’s Show when I was younger, from ZOOM to Arthur to Wishbone. They were all great, and today’s children are totally missing out. I decided to be a little abstract with the Reading Rainbow idea by creating a pop-up book. It was incredibly easy, and I may even use it as a gift idea in the future.

First, I purchased a used book from a great store called Strands. They offer a huge selection of books lined outside their door for only 1 dollar.

Next, I grabbed a cheap pack of construction paper and a glue stick. You will also need:

  • a ruler (a corked back one is preferred, to prevent sliding)
  • a bone folder (for perfect folds)
  • an awl or drill
  • and string.

You can make an easy pop-up book with these materials and a few accordion folds of your construction paper.

First, take a sheet of construction paper and position it horizontally. Then, create even creases with your bone folder by using your ruler as a guide. If you don’t have a bone folder, you can just create accordion folds with your fingers. Be sure each fold is even, as this will ensure your book closes and opens properly, without messing up your folds.

ReadingRainbow2
ReadingRainbow3

Next, fold your folded paper in half and glue the two halves together, creating a fan.

ReadingRainbow4

Finally, line the outside middle point of your fan in the middle point of your book, and glue each side to the book pages.

ReadingRainbow5

You now have a pop-up book! I added a bunch of these fans to create my Reading Rainbow :)

ReadingRainbow6ReadingRainbow7

I paired my rainbow book with my blue jumper, vintage brown shoes, hand-crocheted pink hat and my friend Delwin’s black nerd glasses.

ReadingRainbow8

Happy Halloween!

ReadingRainbow9

8 Comments leave one →
  1. sienasenior permalink
    November 3, 2009 1:13 am

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. You are as cute as can be. I’m glad I found your blog.

    • November 3, 2009 2:01 am

      Thank you so much! Your blog is absolutely wonderful. A completely enchanting and enrapturing read, full of rich memories and a wise outlook on life. I’m glad you’ve stopped by mine :)

  2. November 3, 2009 2:27 am

    My kids go to a Christian school and many of their friends have parents like you. I hope you enjoyed your first halloween with your creativity and free spirited friends in NY!

    • November 3, 2009 11:50 pm

      Hello!

      Thank you for your comment! Yes, I’m sure your childrens’ friends have very similar experiences. It is so eye-opening being in New York City, and making friends here. While I certainly cherish everything my parents taught me, the diversity I am now surrounded by definitely changes my perspective on a lot of things.

  3. sienasenior permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:08 am

    Forgot to tell you that I’m going to try and make your reading rainbow book. I also went to esty, I think that’s correct, and saw all the things you make. Excellent work.

    Forgot to also tell you that you are brilliant and write so well. Love it. Where did you go to school? Are you also a writer?

    This is signed in as sienasenior because I copy my blog onto wordpress and blog so if I lose one I have the other. But just so you know this is Christella from Meandering Moody Memories and since you’re on wordpress that name, sienasenior shows up.

    Keep well.

    • November 3, 2009 11:53 pm

      Thank you so much Christella!

      Yes, I knew it was you :) I’m so glad you visited my Etsy shop, and thank you for the compliment! I actually have an Associates Degree from a local community college back home in Maryland, but had a diverse schooling prior to that, from private to public to home-schooling.

      You are a brilliant writer yourself :)

      – David

  4. Mona permalink
    November 13, 2009 12:22 am

    How cool! I loved all of those shows too. Your etsy shop looks really awesome by the way (it’s how I found your blog). Take care.

    • November 13, 2009 1:19 pm

      Thanks for the comment Mona!

      Weren’t all those shows wonderful?

      I’m so glad you like my Etsy shop too! Thanks so much.

      – David

Leave a Reply

