Skip to content

The Maurice Hat

October 31, 2009

TimmyHat1

Photography by Delwin Kamara

As much as one may hate to admit it when they’re young, there really are some things that we will never understand until we’re older. Experience is a profound teacher.

My father, with a steady cadence and empathetic patience, often tells his children of his life experiences. He is a masterful storyteller, the kind that makes repeated stories enrapturing each time its told. He has lived an incredible, made-for-cinema life, complete with drugs, scandal and mystery. Many of the stories he tell us, though, is not for entertainment. He often uses his life as an example of what not to do. He realizes his mistakes, and wants us to realize them too. This lesson has helped me in ways I may never fully understand now, but it seems as if everyday I remember things he told me years ago. It is so important to have wise council, and I am so grateful to have grown up with it.

TheMauriceHat2

My Father and I - December 2008

Continuing my theme of creating products inspired by members of my incredible family, I decided to create The Maurice Hat, named after my father. With all his wisdom and experience, my father remains one of the most relaxed people I know. He much prefers to wear sweatpants than slacks, and he is always asking me to make him a hat to compliment his style. I do oblige him from time to time, although he has a habit of losing them :)

The Maurice Hat is made using a small hook and simple stitch, which makes it very warm and casual, just the way my Dad would like it. The current one I have in my Etsy shop is made from a wool-blend found in a second-hand store, and pre-washed with organic Castile soap. I love its midnight blue color.

Maurice2

Photography by Delwin Kamara

Maurice4

Photography by Delwin Kamara

I love making them, so there will hopefully be many more of these in a variety of colors soon!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 12:55 am

    It’s amazing what a loving family can inspire you to create, isn’t it ;-) I think it’s a beautiful theme you have going, and I love the hat. My first filet design was a simple pillow topper for my mom and her S.O – it was green, and simply said “Love Lives Here” So many years ago, but I still think of it when ever I do something in filet. I reall should do an accompaning piece to it for thier ann. this year…

    • October 31, 2009 1:25 am

      Thank you for your comment, and compliment!

      I absolutely love your filet work, especially the valances you’ve made. They seem so intricate!

      Making things for others, especially family members, is so special. Presenting a handmade gift to someone truly touches their hearts. I do hope you will create another piece for your mother. It sounds like the pillow topper was gorgeous!

      – David

  2. January 5, 2010 12:11 am

    Gosh! David, you are so awesome. I love your stories and your food and your stuff! Like your father, you are a master storyteller. I want a Maurice Hat.

  3. January 5, 2010 12:30 am

    Thank you so much Dimetri! I sincerely appreciate your kind words.

    You can certainly have a Maurice Hat. One is available in my current Etsy shop, ChaunceyPGraham.etsy.com, right now. Or, if you’d like, I can make a custom one for you.

    Best,

    David

Leave a Reply

