Skip to content

Your Internal Clock

November 6, 2009

The other day my mother shared with me a very interesting theory.

She believes that everyone’s internal clock has an affinity to either even or odd numbers. For instance, she says that if she wakes up at 6 a.m. she feels groggy and tired, but if she wakes up at 5 a.m., she is considerably more alert and ready to begin her day. Thus, her internal clock is tuned to odd numbers. She says that no matter what odd number it is, whether it be 3 a.m. or 7 p.m. she can wake up feeling refreshed. If the alarm goes off at 4 a.m. or 6 p.m., however, she has a difficult time getting up.

Of course, I don’t think she has any scientific basis to stake her claim, but it is something to at least experiment with, and truthfully, I’m beginning to believe her. I’ve determined that if I wake up 7 a.m., I have a much more productive day. I know exactly what I want to accomplish and usually end up doing it. On the days I wake up at 8 a.m., I open my eyes in a funk. I usually don’t want to get up, and would prefer to sleep until 9, which means I am an odd numbered person (perhaps it is hereditary?).

Or maybe we’re both just odd :)

At any rate, try experimenting with your sleep pattern to see if you are an even or odd numbered person!

Today I woke up at 7. Yesterday, I discovered I had a sale in my Etsy shop (Yay!), so began the day preparing to ship my package. I sold something that I had listed a very long time ago, so it was nice to see them go to good hands at last.

il_fullxfull.27978336

The Miniature Journals, sold on ChaunceyPGraham.etsy.com!

I also had time to prepare a simple, yet delicious breakfast, consisting of buttered toast, yogurt and a red pear, which is one of the most beautiful fruits I have ever seen. It was a lot more crisp and less juicy than other pears I’ve had, and very good!

InternalClock1

InternalClock2

Next, I’m going to purchase yarn for my next Maurice Hat. Then, it is off to work, followed by a birthday dinner for a good friend.

With all of this on the agenda, it was a good thing I woke up at the right time :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

