Skip to content

Thanksgiving

November 29, 2009

Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday. It is the only day of the year where the sole purpose is to eat. There isn’t the stress of buying presents or hauling a prickly tree (of course that inevitably comes later). Rather, one simply needs to eat large quantities of heavy, delicious food unashamedly and in the company of great family and friends. It’s a perfect day.

This Thanksgiving was a very special one. Whereas usually my immediately family (Ma, Daddy and my brothers), have a small (in the amount of people, not the amount of food) dinner at home, this year many members of our extended family all came together. My mother, a wonderful cook who loves both the preparation and presentation of meals, made sure we had a fantastic celebration. There was, of course, a huge turkey, but also baked salmon, black eyed peas with hamhocks, collard greens (made by my Cousin Nikko), potato salad and seafood salad, cornbread, and much more.

It was so heartwarming to be able to share stories and laughs with people we love, but unfortunately do not see as often as we like. I hope we do it again.

Some of the family gathered around the table. Clockwise from left: My mother, my cousin Nikko, Nikko's husband Malik, and Uncle Tim

We decided to play the game "Taboo." Unfortunately, my team lost :(

I’m so grateful to have a loving and supportive family. They are what has inspired me throughout my life, and have allowed me to develop my dreams, in spite of how unconventional they are.  I cannot thank them enough.

Sorry about the camera glare! Here's everyone, from clockwise left: Me!, my cousin Kendra, Kendra's husband Will, my brother Jason (partially covered by the stupid glare), my mother and my goddaughter Zoe, my father, my cousin Brandon, my uncle Tim, my cousin Nikko and her husband Malik

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mona permalink
    November 30, 2009 1:05 am

    Aw, cute baby. Also, your mom is gorgeous. I’m glad you had a good holiday.

    • November 30, 2009 1:26 am

      Thank you Mona!

      I’ll pass the compliments to my mother and goddaughter :) I hope your holiday was just as wonderful!

      – David

  2. Aimi permalink
    November 30, 2009 1:56 pm

    such a cute family!!! gald you had a great thanksgiving.

    • November 30, 2009 11:14 pm

      Thank you Aimi!

      I hope yours was just as nice :)

      – David

  3. December 12, 2009 12:48 pm

    The food in Thanksgiving is definitely the best! I’m Canadian, so we got to celebrate T-day twice this year!

    cablecarcouture.com

    • December 13, 2009 2:25 am

      Two Thanksgivings? That’s amazing!! Maybe I should move to Canada…

      Thanks for the comment :)

Leave a Reply

