Skip to content

Meeting Lotta Jansdotter

December 10, 2009

One of the great perks of working within the sewing and craft community (I work for BurdaStyle) is that you get to go to some pretty great events.

Most recently, we were invited to attend a special craft night in the studio of Lotta Jansdotter. She is one of my absolute favorite designers and inspirations! She creates gorgeously whimsical textiles using stencils and line drawings, making colorful yet calming prints. I indefinitely borrowed her book “Simple Sewing” years ago from a friend (I really meant to give it back!), and especially loved her tote-bag pattern. It was one of the first (and sadly one of the only) sewing projects I ever completed

Needless to say, I was really excited to meet her. She is based in Brooklyn and her studio is housed in an old textile warehouse. It was a complete dream, filled with vintage sewing machines and antique knick-knacks. Fitting perfectly inside was Lotta, looking very chic in a beige dress and large beaded necklace. She was incredibly nice and patient, helping me along as I desperately tried to create a simple quilted coaster (it ended up being a little mini-purse thing) and a bird ornament.

Photo Courtesy of Kaplow PR Firm

For some reason, I am really impatient when it comes to sewing. Perhaps its because I’m pretty much at the whim of a machine, and I’d much rather be in complete control of the situation (like I am with crocheting). Nevertheless, it was fun playing with Lotta’s amazing textiles.

I was able to successfully embellish a tote bag with one of her iron-ons, and my mini-purse thing turned out pretty cute!

As a goodie bag, we received samples of some of her line of textiles and paper goods, her project book “Simple Sewing for Baby,” plus other great stuff. It was fantastic!

Surprisingly, after flipping through this book, I came across a great idea that I may make for my goddaughter as a Christmas gift. This is a tutorial for simple fabric letters, an absolutely perfect way for her to learn the alphabet. I may get a bunch of felt, or use leftover fabric I have lying around to make these. They’ll be so adorable!

Thanks Lotta!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mona permalink
    December 18, 2009 3:08 am

    I do love the picture of the child and the fabric letters. ;)

    • December 20, 2009 3:18 pm

      Hi Mona,

      Isn’t it adorable? I think I’d like to create the whole alphabet for my little goddaughter!

Leave a Reply

