Skip to content

Rug-Making

December 12, 2009

I purchased this very tough, thick, industrial yarn at the thrift store a while back. I didn’t know what it could possibly be used for, as it was too thick for most of my crochet hooks except my biggest one (Size 15, I think?). Still, I kept it around, mainly because it looked interesting and always thought it would come in handy eventually.

Now, years after I bought it, I pulled it out and decided that I would make a rug with it. I actually really need a rug in my room, as I had to throw out my old rug a few months ago. Now, I walk on cold tile, as my room is the only one in the apartment without wooden floors. Lacking the money to purchase it, I figured now was as good a time as any to make one of my own.

I’m using the double-crochet stitch, which is my favorite at the moment. This yarn is sturdy enough, although a little difficult to maneuver around my crochet hook. Embedded inside it is some sort of thin wire, which it makes it a little tough. I have a lot of it, but I doubt if I have enough for a full rug. Once I run out, I’ll probably create yarn with old fabric, or buy something similar (probably from a hardware store?) to complete it.

When I was growing up, I had always envisioned using my hands to create the things I needed. I even toyed with the idea of going to carpentry school for a while, just so I could learn how to build my own furniture. Making this rug reminds me of this dream, one that never really went away — just gently pushed aside as life ran its course. It might be really fun to make my own bookshelf and bed frame — things I actually need right now.

We’ll see what I end up doing once I finish this :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 12:34 am

    I am SO jealous – I wish I could make something like this!

Leave a Reply

