Skip to content

Banana Bread

December 17, 2009

I’ve conducted quite a few cooking experiments this year, from egpplant disasters to carrot successes. Each of them reinforced my idea that cooking is equal parts skill and intuition, with a dash of luck. Sometimes an unexpected mixture of ingredients just work, and other times they don’t. The more you try, the more you figure out what will work.

Feeling confident with this theory, I decided to take my cooking to another level with bread baking. Banana bread is probably not considered “real” bread-baking. There is no dough to knead, right? Still, since I’d never done anything like it, it was a challenge for me.

I found a really quick and easy recipe in a book called “From the Galleys of Nantucket,” a collection of recipes written in 1969 by the First Congregational Church of Nantucket Island, Massachusetts (adorable!). I bought it for a dollar at Strand’s, and it is chock-full of quick yet deliciously-sounding dishes.

First, I had to get four bananas and finely mash them.

Then, I added one teaspoon of baking soda in the banana mash and set it aside. In a separate container, I mixed one beaten egg with a cup of sugar (I used brown sugar).

The Brown Sugar

Next, I added 1 1/4 cups of flour (I used whole wheat) and a teaspon of salt to my sugar mixture. Then, brought added the mashed bananas too.

When it was well mixed, I put it in the oven and baked it for 1 hour in 350 degree heat. So easy, right?

Almost in the oven!

This bread was delicious! One of the beauties of bread-baking is the wonderfully intoxicating smell that travels throughout the apartment. Even my brother had to stop and ask what the smell was. It was fantastic. The bread tasted really great, too! It was very sweet, incredibly filling and lasted for a couple of days. My parents are coming in town for the holidays, I definitely plan to make it for them!

The Final Product! Doesn't it look delicous?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 9:31 am

    Yum!
    what a great looking dish… my niece will love it for xmas ;-)

    • December 24, 2009 1:16 pm

      You should definitely try making it for her on Christmas! I’m sure both of you will absolutely love it!

      – David

Leave a Reply

