Skip to content

Salmon Cakes w/ Steamed Vegetables

January 4, 2010

While winter usually calls for rich, creamy soups and hearty breads, a few days ago I had a hankering for some veggies and fish. Piling on the layers, including my Mechanic suit, I trudged to the local market and picked up a few things to satiate my taste buds.

My usual vegetables are zucchini, mushrooms, peppers (usually green and red) and tomatoes (or is that a fruit?). This time, I decided to pick up a leek too, a vegetable I’ve heard about but never tried. It is a little like an onion, but much skinnier and tube-like, with thick, green leaves sticking out the top. It is also less pungent than an onion, and is very tasty when you a chew a bit of it raw. I didn’t have the slightest clue on how to prepare them, and at first thought the green leaves were the edible portions (it isn’t). A quick Google search led me to the proper preparation.

Basically, you wash it thoroughly, cut off the green leaves then immerse the remaining portion (the white and pale green root) in a bowl of water for a few minutes. It’s really easy and a bit of it adds a lot of flavor to your dishes!

Along with the leeks and other vegetables (minus the peppers and tomatoes), I picked up a packet of sliced red and white cabbage, which also included a bit of carrot shreds.

I decided to steam the cabbage mix, leeks and chopped mushroom, as I wanted to retain their natural flavor, especially the leeks. I added a bit of lemon pepper seasoning as well, which made them extra delicious.

Along with the veggies, I made salmon cakes. Salmon cakes are one of the most easiest yet delicious things you can make.

  • All you need is a can of salmon and one battered egg.
  • Take a clump of salmon in your hand and mold it into a patty.
  • Then, dip it into the egg.
  • Next, fry the salmon in a pre-heated and oiled skillet. In no time, you’ll have fried salmon cakes that are absolutely delicious! You don’t even need to add seasoning, as salmon is naturally packed with with rich flavor.

With a bit of cooked brown rice, this was a super easy and very delicious meal that probably took about 15-20 minutes to make. Plus, it is extremely healthy for you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 4:46 pm

    This looks great! I will definitely try it.

Leave a Reply

