Skip to content

Stuffed Potatoes

January 7, 2010

I want to hibernate.

Literally, I would like to crouch in a warm, dark cave and not return until springtime. Me and Winter are not friends at all, in fact we are often arguing. He’s shoves with invisible hands, and I pump up the heat (his arch nemesis). It’s an ongoing struggle, and I will be glad when he retreats back into his shivering home.

Until that day arrives, one way I warm myself is by fixing warm, huge and hearty meals. The other day, I made a delicious meal of potatoes, stuffed with piles of vegetables, cheese and salsa. It was fantastic and, like most of my meals, very easy.

First, I boiled 3 Idaho potatoes. They take about 15-20 minutes in medium heat.

While that was boiling, I cut up eggplant, spinach and broccoli, and mixed it with canned corn under low heat. I let it sautee for only a few minutes, as I wanted them to still be a bit raw. Vegetables have their own natural flavor that can diminish with too much heat. I added only a bit of seasoning to it, like a dash of lemon pepper, some garlic and an Italian blend.

Doesn’t this look delicious? Adding a bit of cooked rice would make this a complete meal too!

Once the vegetables were done, I split the now-cooked potatoes in half and slathered on the butter. Don’t be afraid to add a generous amount of butter, but of course don’t go overboard :) You can also use margarine or an oil spread.

Then, I shoved the vegetables into the potatoes.

Next, I added Mozzarella cheese and cheese I picked up from a Spanish market called Queso Fresco,which means “fresh cheese.” It is crumbly with a very mild taste, and very delicious.

I then added salsa a top the cheese and vegetables, then baked it at around 275 degrees (Fahrenheit) for 10-15 minutes.

It was soo delicious!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

