Skip to content

Homemade Applesauce

January 12, 2010

I had no clue how easy applesauce was to make. It’s one of my favorite things to eat, but I’ve always purchased it in the jar. I discovered popular blogger and crafter Soule Mama’s adorable blog post on making it from scratch with her children and decided to try it out.

First, I washed, peeled and cored a few apples.

Washed Apples

Peeled Apples

Cored and Cut Apples

Then I cut them into chunks and placed them in hot water on the stove.

On The Stove

I allowed them to cook under low heat until they were very soft. A few mixes with my spoon and I suddenly had applesauce!

The challenging part is seasoning it. I used cinnamon, brown sugar and raisins, but it was still a bit tart. This may be due to the apples I used (I think I used Granny Smith’s), or the wrong, or insufficient, seasoning blend. Since it’s so easy to make, I’m going to experiment a bit until I discover just the right combination! Soule Mama also ate hers with a bit of ice cream. That definitely sounds delicious!

I’m glad I have another dish to add to my ever-growing recipe collection :)

Doesn't it look delicious?!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 7:52 pm

    Yum! Thanks for sharing the recipe! There is a Japanese phrase, “you don’t need a doctor when you eat one apple a day.”
    btw, I added your blog to my blog links :)

    • David M. permalink
      January 20, 2010 10:23 pm

      Thanks Hikaru!

      I definitely agree with that phrase. Apples are so important! I hope you enjoy the recipe :)

Leave a Reply

