Skip to content

How to Make A Simple Beaded Necklace

January 31, 2010

Browsing through a neighborhood thrift store a few days ago, I found an old chair cushion made out of small wooden beads. I think these were pretty popular in the 70s or 80s.

Since it only cost around 3 dollars, I took it home and decided that I’d use the wooden beads to make necklaces. I didn’t realize how many beads were on the chair, but once I was finished cutting it apart, I was left with alot of beads.

If you don’t have an old 70’s beaded chair cushion lying around, you can find similar beads at most craft stores. To make a simple crocheted beaded necklace, you will need beads that have holes large enough for a crochet needle to go through (there are ways to crochet with small beads, but it takes a bit more time).

For my necklace, I used a US G6/ Size 4.00 mm hook and three spools of different colored mercerized cotton yarn (1-ply).You will also need a large-eye embroidery needle for later (not shown).


Instructions:

  1. First, make a slip stitch (for help with this, and on making a chain stitch, check out this post).
  2. Then grab a bead and insert your hook through it. Bring your yarn over the hook.
  3. Pull your yarn through the bead, then through the loop on the hook.
  4. Bring your yarn over again (this time it should be on the outside of your bead).
  5. Pull through the loop on the hook.
  6. Chain 6, or however many you’d like.
  7. Repeat Steps 2 – 7 until you reach your desired length.
  8. Make your final chain 6, then cut your yarn, leaving about 1 foot left. Pull your yarn all the way the your loop, then pull to tighten.

    To End:
  1. Tie a few knots with your end and beginning remnants of yarn.
  2. Pull all remaining yarn pieces through your embroidery needle and pull through the last bead you added to your necklace.
  3. With your embroidery needle, pull your yarn through the side of the last bead (under your stitch), leaving a loop.
  4. Then pull through the newly formed loop and tighten.
  5. Insert your needle back through the wooden bead, and cut off the remaining yarn near the bead.

    And you know have your very own super-cute beaded necklace! These will definitely be a staple in my wardrobe in the upcoming summer months, which needs to come very soon as I’m pretty much over freezing temperatures at this point :)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 8:52 am

    Great recycling! :D

    • David M. permalink
      February 2, 2010 3:02 am

      Thanks! It feels so good to reuse things in unexpected ways :)

  2. KIM DUNCAN permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:53 am

    I’M LOVING IT! ALL OF IT! AUNT, KIM.

    • David M. permalink
      February 2, 2010 3:02 am

      Thank you so much for your support Aunt Kim! I love you, and hope to see you soon!

  3. Linda S permalink
    June 12, 2010 1:11 pm

    Love this! A good way to use up my left over crochet cotton and beads. and so simple!

    • David M. permalink*
      June 13, 2010 11:03 am

      Thanks! I’m glad you like it! If you try it out, I’d love for you to send me some pics so I can see :)

      – David

Trackbacks

  1. Restore My Blisses « Yes, David Is Here
  2. String Along Some Goodwill: Make a Beaded Necklace « A Good Look by GoodwillNyNj

Leave a Reply

