Skip to content

Distressed Capelet

February 2, 2010

Available at Uchenna.etsy.com

I’m getting closer and closer to crocheting actual, whole garments. Before you know it, you’ll see me making a sweater. It’s not that I can’t make them if I tried, it’s just that:

  1. They take a long time to make, and I doubt my own patience sometimes.
  2. Crocheting smaller pieces allows me to be creative inside of a smaller space, and I often like the freedom that comes with confinement (does that make sense?).
  3. I don’t know if I really want to make a sweater at this point. I still have to remove the festering stigma of the creepy cat lady crocheting an unwanted sweater for her distant niece. I don’t want to be the male counterpart to that lady.

So for now, I make what I make, and that’s fine with me. In spite of not making the coveted sweaters, I have improved my skills and refined my design aesthetic with the things I do like to create.

I’ve wanted to make a shawl/capelet (what’s the difference?) for some time, so decided to buckle down and make one for the (prayerfully) soon-to-come warmer weather. I love wearing flowy and drapy accessories, and this definitely has that appeal, with a bit of scrunchy/melting-fiber chic thrown in for good measure. I love the free-form detail, and am interested in seeing what other variations I can make of it.

The material is %100 mercerized cotton, and I used the biggest hook I had (size 15, I think) so it’s definitely breathable and light enough for sunny days.

This capelet is now available in my brand-new Etsy shop! You need this in your wardrobe :)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 9:42 pm

    Hi. Found you via the tag surfer.. Glad I did.
    Your creations are great. I love to see people embrace their creativity instead of throw it out.
    Will visit often to see what you are up to.

    Take care and keep the passion alive!!

    • David M. permalink
      February 2, 2010 9:56 pm

      Thank you so much! I will certainly try to keep the passion alive!

      Best wishes to you!

      – David

  2. KIM DUNCAN permalink
    February 5, 2010 1:21 am

    DAVID, I NEED THIS ASAP !!!! YOU KNOW HOW I DO. THIS YOUR AUNT KIM. I HAVE TO KEEP IT ALIVE. I’M SO FEELING THIS CAPLET. IN ATLANTA IT’S SPRINGTIME 50 ISH NOW. I NEED TO HOOK THIS UP FOR MY SAT. MEETINGS WITH A PAIR OF VERY DISTRESSED, WELL WORN JEANS, THONG SANDALS WITH A HEEL AND A WHITE WIFE BEATER. I’M FEELING THIS FUNKY LOOK. COULD YOU ALSO MAKE A FUNKY FLOWER OF THE SAME COLOR CONCEPT AS THE CAPLET, SO THAT I COULD ATTACH IT TO MY THRIFT STORE- FIND CLUTCH. HOW MUCH FOR BOTH AND CALL ME AT HOME/ LM COST FOR BOTH AND YOUR ADDRESS. PEACE, AUNT KIM.

    • David M. permalink*
      February 5, 2010 8:49 am

      Hi Aunt Kim,

      I’m so glad you like it! I’ll call you this evening to walk you through how to purchase it on Etsy, etc.

      Thanks so much!

      – David

  3. VintageHybrid permalink
    May 10, 2010 2:22 am

    A cape, capelet or poncho is an enclosed piece – a shawl is open (like a triangle). Love your work!

    • David M. permalink*
      May 10, 2010 9:42 pm

      Thanks for the lesson! Now I know the difference! And I’m so glad you enjoy my work! :)

      – David

Leave a Reply

