Skip to content

Thai Coconut Curry

May 6, 2010

The Teen’s Vegetarian Cookbook” was my very first cookbook I ever purchased. I was around twelve or thirteen, full of ideas about environmental responsibility and the beauty of vegetarianism (I was a peculiar boy). While the disciplined vegetarian lifestyle became a bit too hard for me to handle (though I still respect it), I kept this cookbook  in case I got a hankering for a unique meal.

Most of the dishes I cook are meatless anyway, but I tend to stick with the same old vegetable palette (usually mushrooms and peppers, with a bit of spinach). Today I was anxious to try something new and this Asian beauty caught my eye. Ginger? Curry? Garlic? Yes, yes and yes!

I’m not really a fan of measurement and precision when cooking (Ma always said ‘go with your gut’,) so I traded in some of the specific units for ‘a dash here’ and ‘a sprinkle there’ (baking, on the other hand, is a different story). If you’d like a precise recipe, I do recommend picking up a copy of this great cookbook!

Earlier in the morning I cooked a few potatoes, so I cut up two of them for this dish. Along with that, I cut up a half of a large onion, two carrots, two cloves of garlic and a few slices of ginger.

The Carrots and Potatoes

Ginger is probably my favorite smell in the world! It took me a while to stop sniffing it :)

With some rice cooking, I cooked my carrots until tender and lightly sauteed the onions with a bit of olive oil in a separate pan. I then added my garlic, ginger and a few sprinkles of curry powder. Yum!

In this mixture I added 15 0unces of coconut milk, a dash of soy sauce, a bunch of peas and a few broccoli florets. This delicious concoction cooked for a while, engulfing the room in an intoxicating smell!

This meal was so rich and hearty! The recipe called for a bit of sugar as well, so I added some honey to make it nice and sweet.

I loved the combination of flavors, and the mixture of potatoes, rice and coconut milk made this a very full dinner :) Isn’t it a great feeling when you enjoy a dish you prepared yourself?!

Have a recipe you think I should try? Leave a comment or send me an e-mail at ChaunceyPGraham[at]Gmail[dot]com!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. VintageHybrid permalink
    May 10, 2010 1:45 am

    If environmental responsibility and the beauty of vegetarianism make one peculiar – then I am happy and proud to be peculiar! xxx

    • David M. permalink*
      May 10, 2010 9:43 pm

      You’re absolutely right! It’s high time more people get “peculiar” like us! :)

  2. PartTimeVegan permalink
    May 20, 2010 11:34 am

    Yum, and wanted to pass along this fabulous blog I just found: Herbivoracious.com full of amazing vegetarian meals. It’s gorgeous and easy. love your site, xoxo!

Leave a Reply

