Skip to content

The Aztecs and Thoughts of Success

May 8, 2010

Anyone who knows me knows that I adore prints and colors. This outfit merges both worlds. I found this shirt at a thrift store and knew it was meant for me! It reminds of school lessons about the Aztec tribe, and also of the Arizona landscape (which I love, though I’ve never seen in-person).

From top to bottom:

Shirt – Thrifted
Necklaces – Handmade (by me!)
Pants – Uniqlo
Shoes – Thrifted

Can I digress for a bit?

I’m really learning a lot this year, mainly that I don’t know as much I thought. Rather than feel overwhelmed and anxious about this, as I my have reacted in the past, I’m learning that the beauty of life is its perpetual state of a work-in-progress. I’m imperfect, I make mistakes, and that’s o.k.

I’m also learning that I don’t give myself enough credit.

I had a small epiphany a few weeks ago when I realized that success can only come if you accept it. If you are stuck in the mindset of failure, you cannot acknowledge success, even if it is smacking you in the face. Since then I’ve seen myself and my accomplishments in a whole new light. I’ve done a lot in my 24 years that is pretty awesome :) I’m happy with where I am, not with a feeling of complacency but with a feeling of gratitude for every success that comes my way. I truly believe that these little droplets of happiness can lead to an ocean of a fulfilled life. Life is a succession of seconds, and that is all we can control — the very second that we are in.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 11:55 pm

    Oooohhh I like this outfit a lot! You can definitely pull off that print. And nobody knows as much as they think they do. At least I think that’s right……hmmmm….

    • David M. permalink*
      May 10, 2010 9:44 pm

      Thank you so much!

      You’re right about people not knowing as much as they think. It’s good to know I’m not alone in that!

  2. Mercy permalink
    July 17, 2010 5:34 pm

    how inspiring

Leave a Reply

