Skip to content

Tea for the Sniffles

May 16, 2010

I have the sniffles :(

It’s one of those annoying, lingering cold-like sniffles that make you feel weak, tired and congested too. I tend to get it each time the weather approaches Spring but stutters along its journey, fluctuating between cold, windy days and humid ones. To make matters worse, I’m sort of a workaholic, and haven’t really given my body the opportunity to rest and recuperate, making this icky feeling drag longer than it should.

This weekend, no matter how much I try to resist, I resolved to slow down and heal. When I was growing up, my mother always stressed that the best medicine for colds was found in nature. We rarely took over-the-counter medicine and instead relied on herbs like Goldenseal and Echinacea, along with heavy doses of Vitamin C. My mother also prepared a special tea of Garlic and Lemon, which was always so soothing for me. I decided to make some of it for myself, adding a bit of ginger to clear my congestion (I’m not sure where I learned this from, but it works!).

To make your own cold-fighting tea, simply cut up a half lemon (more or less), one or two cloves of peeled garlic and a small piece of ginger (ginger is pretty strong, so about three thin slices works for me). Add these ingredients in a pot of water (I used about 2-3 cups) and let it simmer for about 10-15 minutes under low heat. Once hot and steaming, add a bit of honey to taste and enjoy!

It’s really easy, and it really makes you feel better. The properties in all of these ingredients are so good for you that this tea could also act as a preventative medicine in case you feel a cold trying to creep up.

Now it’s time for me to dive under the covers and rest for the remainder of the day :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

