Skip to content

Make a ‘Commander’ Hat

May 31, 2010

Kelly Rowland‘s single “Commander” is my guilty pleasure of the moment. It had to grown on me, but now I can’t get enough of it. I’m usually not into dance-pop and techno, but the chorus is soo catchy! I’ve been a big Kelly supporter throughout her career, and am glad to see her make such a fun record.

Not only is the song great, but I immediately loved the single cover! She looks like Donna Summer in her prime, and I absolutely adore her button-covered hat! It’s a fantastic example of how a simple, DIY look can become glam and chic.

Photo Extracted from KellyRowland.com

Feeling inspired, I decided to make a ‘Commander’ hat of my own. Here’s how you can make one too!

First, pic your hat. I opted for a super-droopy, tam-like hat that I already owned. When choosing your hat, its important to consider how the weight of the buttons will affect the hat’s shape. This look could really look cool with any type of hat though, it all depends on how you place your buttons.

Next, find your buttons. If you don’t happen to have a button jar lying around, ask your friends and family for any buttons they may have, or visit your local thrift store to find some cheap buttons. Another great place to visit is dry cleaners, especially those that offer alterations, as they usually have a lot of extra buttons lying around. Be sure to amass a diverse and fun collection. The more colorful and eclectic your button collection is, the better your hat will look.

Then, start sewing. Grab a needle and thread, and start sewing your buttons on. This process may take some time, depending on how many buttons you are using. When choosing your next button to sew, think of how the color, design and size looks next to the previous one, and be sure to pay attention to the spacing. I love how Kelly’s hat has buttons that overlap one another.

Instead of covering the whole hat, I thought a large stripe would fit better. I really love how it turned out!


I encourage you to make one for yourself! What kind of hat would you use, and how would you place your buttons?

Leave a Reply

