Skip to content

Projects In-Progress

July 5, 2010

Happy Fourth of July weekend (if you’re in the U.S.)! It’s illegally hot outside, but it’s great to have an extended break once in a while:)

With two jobs and a freelance gig, it’s such a breath of fresh air to have a day where I can do nothing but relax. For me, holiday breaks are a wonderful time to catch up on some lingering craft projects. I’m always thinking of fun, new things to make, but am disappointed when I am not able to work on them as often as I would like. Here is what I’m working on at the moment, and what I hopefully will finish by the end of next week (fingers crossed):

My Soon-to-be Finished Bowler Hat

I really want to make a crocheted bowler-esque hat, similar to this:

Image Extracted from en.wikivisual.com

Although I’m making it in the style of a beanie by not increasing the bottom stitches, I do intend to make it long enough so the bottom can be rolled up into a brim of some sort. This hat is taking me much longer to complete than usual because I’m using a size 4.00 mm hook, which is really small (for me, at least). I want the stitches to be rather tight, as I intend to embroider the outside.

Here’s my other project:

A Future Beaded Necklace

I’ve already made a few necklaces using recycled beads from an old seat cushion, but I decided to do a more a tedious one this time. It’s not really complicated (my projects never are, I don’t think) but I’m using a smaller, size 3.00 mm hook and am making a slip stitch around each bead about four times. Apparently my hook didn’t like this very much because in the middle of one particular stitch it snapped in half! So now, I’m making a beaded necklace with half a crochet hook :( I’m actually surprised that I can still do it, which is why I haven’t bought another one just yet.

Hopefully these projects will be finished soon! Perhaps there’s another extended break on the horizon for me to have another crafting day :)

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 1:22 pm

    Hope you finish the bowler. Looking forward to seeing the finished product. :)

Leave a Reply

