Skip to content

There’s A Hole In My T-Shirt!

July 9, 2010

One of the challenges of being an avid bargain shopper is that you develop a skewed sense of value. When virtually everything you buy is $20 or less, you find it outrageous that products in high-end or name-brand stores are anything higher, especially considering that many amazing, thrifted finds are no lower in quality.

And when creativity strikes, and you have the sudden urge to rip up, shred and alter your entire wardrobe (or does this just happen to me?), the avid thrifter thinks that everything is fair game, even the high-priced stuff. This urge came to me this morning and, with a nice, name-brand t-shirt in tow, I happily began to indulge in it.

The shirt is from Diesel and admittedly, as a former employee, I didn’t pay a dime for it. Still, its store price was rather expensive, much higher than $20. What better way to recycle an old uniform than to restyle it?

In a past post for my weekly men’s fashion series on the Goodwill Ny/Nj blog, I took a thrifted tank top, punched a few holes and made a few tears to give it some nice, grunge appeal. I gave my Diesel tee the same treatment.

My tools of choice were an awl and my kitchen cutting board. An awl is primarily used for bookbinding  to puncture holes in stacks of paper, but I discovered it was perfect for creating nice-sized holes in my shirt. I used the cutting board so I wouldn’t mark up my kitchen counter.

This is an incredibly easy project. I turned my shirt inside out, and punctured holes inside the pattern on it. If you don’t have an awl, I’m sure a pencil would work just fine. You could also use a blunt needle, then stretch the fabric while the needle is through it to create a bigger hole. I did this technique with my awl to create random, bigger holes throughout.

I also decided to distress it further by stretching out the collar, making a few larger holes then hand-stitching them up for a bit of texture, then removing the sleeve hems and sewing an uneven straight stitch around the edges.

And voila! A beautifully distressed and wonderfully ravaged t-shirt :)

I paired it with a thrifted belt, pants I bought on sale at H&M,  a huge, thrifted bag (I call it my ‘carpet bag’), and my favorite green shoes from Sebago.

Seeing these results, I’m ready to ruin another perfectly good t-shirt. What are some other ways you would distress a tee? I’d love to know :)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    July 11, 2010 9:50 pm

    I love your bag! And your little slice of the blog-o-sphere just brightened my day. Keep on stylin’ those finds-Blessings.

    • David M. permalink*
      July 11, 2010 11:18 pm

      Thank you so much, Carrie! I’m glad to have brightened your day. Thanks for stopping by :)

      – David

  2. July 14, 2010 5:06 pm

    I really like this, it makes the t-shirt so much more interesting and it’s such a brilliantly simple idea. Well done!

  3. July 14, 2010 11:08 pm

    This is a brilliant idea!!! It-is-just-amazing how you did it!!! Good!
    P.D: Love ur shoes!

    • David M. permalink*
      July 14, 2010 11:25 pm

      Thank you so much, Luna! I’m glad you like it :)

Trackbacks

  1. Goodwill & Distressed Chic: Inspiration from Inspiration « A Good Look by GoodwillNyNj

Leave a Reply

