Skip to content

Restore My Blisses

July 11, 2010

Necklace available at Uchenna.etsy.com

I finally finished my newest necklace, made with a broken crochet hook:

I’m not quite sure how this happened. All I know is that in the middle of a stitch, it sort of bent in a weird way, and when I tried to straighten it, it snapped :( I’m surprised that I was able to finish this at all, but very glad I did.

This necklace is made of recycled wooden beads found on a thrifted seat cushion (see my first wooden bead necklace here). That one seat cushion contained hundreds of beads, which allows me to make more of these type of necklaces in a variety of sizes. I used thin, cotton yarn and found a metallic clasp hidden in my sewing box for the closure.

Taking the pictures for my shop and blog is always a challenge because since I don’t have a backyard (I live in an apartment), I have to go to a public park with my tripod and small, digital camera and take photos. It’s a little embarrassing, but I haven’t experienced any problems yet :) Luckily, I live in a family-friendly area, so people usually stick to their own affairs, save for the occasional quizzical glance.

I’m steadily growing comfortable being known as that guy in the neighborhood who takes random photos of himself, crochets on the subway, wears all types of strange clothes and sings really loud in his apartment. It simply comes with the territory of being me, and I’m o.k. with that :)

This necklace and more is now available in my Etsy Shop!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 12:18 pm

    Love ur blog putting U on my Blogroll…LMAO Love that necklace wish I could make one…LOLOL

  2. July 22, 2010 1:00 am

    This is all fantastic! I hear you about the photos- luckily my apartment has a small balcony- but if I want a change of scenery I go outside and you do get those glances- usually it’s my downstairs neighbor and her cat peering out the window- I imagine she has some sort of story cooked up as to why there is some girl taking pictures out in th fron garden…

    I’m loving the beads and tee. Why didn’t I find your blog sooner?

    http://www.iwasthegoldengirl.blogspot.com

    • David M. permalink*
      July 23, 2010 12:10 pm

      Hi Suzz,

      Thank you for your comment, and compliment! I wish I had a balcony like you. That would make my life soo much easier :) I wonder what my neighbors have assumed about me. Maybe they think I’m crazy, narcissistic or just weird (or all of the above).

      I hope you come back and visit my blog! I’ve checked out ours, and will definitely be making more visits! :)

      – David

  3. July 26, 2010 6:46 pm

    Great idea with the wooden beads and the colorful yarn! Love it!
    I think I will try doing something like this :D

    • David M. permalink*
      July 27, 2010 8:36 pm

      Thank you, Laura! Let me know how yours turn out! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Goodwill & Distressed Chic: Inspiration from Inspiration « A Good Look by GoodwillNyNj

Leave a Reply

